Top 3 Drivers Honoured In Vienna

Top 3 Drivers Honoured In Vienna

The top three drivers at the FIA World Touring Car Championship this season were honored at the FIA awards ceremony in Vienna on December 2nd , where Citroen received the World Touring Car Championship award.

Jose Maria Lopez received his trophy for winning the World Touring Car Championship for the third consecutive season with eight victories, seven Nurburgring Nordschleife victories, seven pole positions and eight fastest laps. Yvan Muller picked up his trophy as second place to his Citroen teammate, while Tiago Monteiro received the third place trophy.

Muller joined Lopez as well as other world title winners such as Sebastien Ogier (WRC) and Nico Rosberg (F1) at the FIA Champions' Press Conference in the Austrian capital. This marked the four-time World Touring Car Champion’s withdrawal from the full-time competition after an outstanding race.

Meanwhile, Citroën Racing's director Yves Matton picked up the WTCC award for the third consecutive year after a dominant campaign during which the company celebrated 12 career victories, nine pole positions and 11 fastest laps in addition to the WTCC Trophy title for independent drivers courtesy of Mehdi Bennani.

Citroen Online Digital Newsletter Signup


First Name: 

Last Name: 


Note: Citroen Malaysia and it's affiliated companies reserves the right to use the information provided above for future promotional use.